Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content An Official Website of the Commonwealth of Kentucky

Energy and Environment Cabinet

Kentucky Division of Water

Division of Water
Wet Weather

The Division of Water’s (DOW) “Wet Weather Team,” consisting of staff from the former Kentucky Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (KPDES), Groundwater and Facilities Construction Branches, is embodied in the Wet Weather Section in the Surface Water Permits Branch, and includes oversight of the combined sewer overflow (CSO) and sanitary sewer overflow (SSO) compliance initiatives, as well as the stormwater permitting program (MS4).
Fifteen Kentucky communities entered into consent judgments with the Commonwealth of Kentucky mandating the elimination or management of combined sewer overflows (CSOs), and, in some instances, the elimination of sanitary sewer overflows (SSOs) as well. Those communities are:
​Ashland ​Catlettsburg ​Frankfort ​Harlan ​Henderson
​Loyall ​Maysville ​Morganfield​ ​Owensboro ​*Paducah-McCracken
​Pikeville ​Pineville ​Prestonsburg ​Vanceburg ​Worthington
*Paducah-McCracken Joint Sewer Agency
Additionally, Louisville and Jefferson County Metropolitan Sewer District (MSD) and Sanitation District No. 1 of northern Kentucky entered into joint federal/Kentucky consent decrees for the same purpose. The Wet Weather Section in the Division of Water’s Surface Water Permits Branch has reviewed, either jointly with Region IV of the federal EPA, or independently, submittals from these CSO communities dealing with:
  • Nine Minimum Controls of CSOs;
  • Interim CSO Long-Term Control Plans and final CSO Long-Term Control Plans;
  • Capacity, Management, Operations and Maintenance (CMOM) Compliance Reports; and
  • Sewer Overflow Response Protocols (SORP).
The MS4 program is responsible for the regulation of polluted stormwater runoff that is commonly transported through Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s), from which it is often discharged untreated into local waterbodies. To prevent harmful pollutants from being washed or dumped into an MS4, operators must obtain a National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit and develop a stormwater management program. The MS4 systems may be:
Large MS4 250,000+ Population
  • Louisville and Jefferson County MSD
  • Lexington-Fayette County Urban Government

Medium MS4 100,000+ Population

  • None in Kentucky 

Small MS4 >10,000 Population or Population Density of 1,000/ square mile

  • 100 Phase II covered under 44 permits